D. Michael Miller - A Short Biography

I was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba in 1950. I received a B.Sc. in Mathematics and Physics from the University of Winnipeg in 1971 and a M.Sc. and Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Manitoba in 1973 and 1976, respectively.

From 1975 to 1980, I was a faculty member in the School of Computer Science, University of New Brunswick. I moved to the University of Winnipeg in 1980 and then to the University of Manitoba in 1982.

I joined the Department of Computer Science at the University of Victoria in 1987 as Chair, a position I held for a decade except for the Fall of 1992 when I was Acting Dean of Engineering and July 1995 - June 1996 when I was on administrative leave at TIMA Laboratory/INPG, Grenoble, France. I was Dean of the Faculty of Engineering from July 1997 to June 2008 except for an administrative leave from August to December 2002 which I spent in the Faculty of Computer Science at the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton.  From July 2008 to March 2009, I was a visitor in the Computer Architecture Group (Prof. Rolf Drechsler) at the University of Bremen, Germany. I visited the Kameyama Lab at Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan from April to June 2009.

I served as Associate Vice-President Research at UVic from September 2010 June 2016.  In that capacity, I oversaw the research centres on campus, had responsibility for developing, interpreting and applying academic policies and procedures related to research, and represented the University to various external organizations.

I retired in July, 2017 and am now a Professor Emeritus at UVic.

My primary research interests at the moment include the synthesis of reversible and quantum logic circuits, and decision diagrams applied to the design of binary and multiple-valued logic systems using both conventional and spectral techniques.

I am a member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

I have served on the Board of Trustees for the Combination and Money Purchase Pension Plans at the University of Victoria since 2011, and as Chair of the Board since 2021.